PG Music Home
Posted By: Beowulf Kingsley What do YOU do with BIAB? - 02/07/09 11:57 PM
I'm new to this program, and I got it originally to have something to practice shedding my Swing guitar chops with...running those changes with the chords in your head is good practice but not always terribly satisfying. But now that I'm getting started using it I can see a LOT of different applications - fleshing out and testing arrangements, making quick demos of my songs for the band, putting together archives of compositions (I write a lot), possibly even using some or all of BIAB tracks for finished recordings, as a kick-ass teaching tool...plus, of course, it's just a lot of fun...there's lots of possibilites, I can tell.

My real question is what kinds of things do YOU folks wind up using it for? And what do you think that it does really well? I'm just curious...I know that a lot of you have a great deal of expertise with this program and understand it's capabilites really well, I'd appreciate your insights.
Posted By: Gary Curran Re: What do YOU do with BIAB? - 02/08/09 12:07 AM
Beowulf,
I think you've answered your own question.

For me, I use it to create backing tracks to play along with.

Gary
Posted By: Mac Re: What do YOU do with BIAB? - 02/08/09 12:17 AM
*Don't neglect the EAR TRAINER in BIAB. Start with simple interval identification from the same root and play the game. Ten minutes a day or so is all it takes to develop a monster pair of relative pitch identifying ears.

*I use BIAB for PRACTICE. Of all sorts. Drillin' on the changes, drillin' on things like the ii-V-I's in rotation, the auto transpose feature found in the Prefs for practicing a song in all keys in rotation, with BIAB keeping perfect time plus having a backup band of at least bass, drums and sometimes a rhythm part is super shortcut to getting it down right. Being able to up the BPM as you go and all just adds to the accelerated learning curve that BIAB can provide.