PG Music Home
Posted By: heatus One measure intro's? - 09/27/19 09:21 AM
Hi All,

New to Band in the Box after a few years off.

Doing a backing track to Walking Shoes by Gerry Mulligan.

Tune starts off with a one measure intro.

Is there a way to show only 1 measure on the first line and have 3 blank cells which do not play. In other words greyed out cells.

For me to keep my place while playing along, I like to see 4 bar phrases going left to right So most "Standards" would be 8 rows of 4 bars or 32 measures in total.

Thanks in advance for any help to do this.
Posted By: Mojo_Plasma Re: One measure intro's? - 09/27/19 11:59 AM
Yes, If I understand the question...
I am kinda new to BIAB myself, and not at my BIAB Pc BUT...
If memory serves in the Bar settings menu, you can tell each/all instrument to "sit out" then come back in whenever you like.
Or at least I THINK this is correct.
But someone will hop on soon who can answer you for sure.
Posted By: AudioTrack Re: One measure intro's? - 09/27/19 08:47 PM
What version (exactly) of BiaB do you have?

Later versions (about 2016/2017 ) allow you to place a new line for each section (part marker), which I think? is what you want. However, the shortest section might be two bars.

Display Options (1) sets it for all songs.

Song Setting (2) sets it for the current song only.

Attached picture 2019-09-28_09-43-45.jpg
Attached picture 2019-09-28_09-44-57.jpg
Posted By: heatus Re: One measure intro's? - 09/27/19 08:57 PM
I have version 2016 (434). I will try these suggestions tomorrow morning. Appreciate the help.
Bob
Posted By: AudioTrack Re: One measure intro's? - 09/27/19 09:19 PM
I'm fairly sure it was introduced by that time. However, I just tried it and I found that I needed to enable the new section function in both places (Display Settings and Song Settings) before I could get it to work at all.

Make sure you set the Minimum Section value to 1.

Attached picture 2019-09-28_10-18-22.jpg