PG Music Home
Posted By: clav voice recorders - 03/10/13 12:58 AM
I'm looking to purchase a voice recorder to take to fiddle camps. Have just started researching.

A think a USB capability would be a useful feature. One model I'm looking at mentions an SD card; don't know what's used if there is no SD card; what the alternative would be. I believe the sd card would increase recording time.

I'm looking at 2 Sonys, both for $159, don't know if I should mention models. They are ICDTX50 with 4gb. The other is ICDXX712.

I wonder if a USB port is not mentioned, does that mean it doesn't have it?

I'm really new to this computer/electronics world but am learning fast.

Thanks for any help. Don't know if any of this makes sense.
Posted By: JohnJohnJohn Re: voice recorders - 03/10/13 01:08 AM
I have two that I really like!

This one is for lo-fi rough captures of melody and lyric ideas. I carry it everywhere so I never miss an idea. It only costs $30 at Amazon. It has a built-in USB arm to make connecting it easy. Only thing I don't like is the files have to be converted to use on your computer. Not difficult but an extra step.

RCA VR5320R 1GB Digital Voice Recorder
http://www.amazon.com/RCA-VR5320R-Digita...igital+recorder

For high quality recordings I suggest a stereo field recorder. I bought the Zoom H4n and I just LOVE it! The quality is so high that I use it for all of my recordings and then bring them into my DAW on my computer! It has stereo recording plus multi-track mode so I can layer additional tracks as I listen to previously recorded ones. Way too many features to list here!! But it is a little higher than the number you mentioned at about $270.

Zoom H4n Handy Portable Digital Recorder
http://www.amazon.com/Zoom-Handy-Portabl...ywords=zoom+h4n

Both Zoom and Tascam make some nice ones in the $100-$200 range so you could check those as well.
Posted By: Matt Finley Re: voice recorders - 03/10/13 01:30 AM