PG Music Home
Posted By: DennisD Archiving CDs - 11/13/14 06:59 PM
I am looking for a free music library sofware that will let me edit, sort, my current file of recorded music from CDs, LPs and Home tapes. Also would prefer software that would default information such as title, artist, album, etc when entering new data. I am downsizing my space and I have hundreds of CD's and LPs that I would like copy some of the songs off, then I will give the cds/lps away. My partner used ITunes but I am not fussy about it, comments. Thanks DennisD
Posted By: Don Gaynor Re: Archiving CDs - 11/13/14 07:07 PM
Dennis, take a look at Media Monkey. It does everything you mentioned and more. I've been using the free version for about 10 years. It allows tag editing on the fly and many other collection features.

http://www.mediamonkey.com/download/

Posted By: Matt Finley Re: Archiving CDs - 11/13/14 08:38 PM
I don't know of a program for this. If I wanted to do it, I would just create a database. However, I would think the perfect program would allow you to scan the CD bar code and it would search the Allmusic online data to enter the data for you.
Posted By: Guitarhacker Re: Archiving CDs - 11/13/14 10:15 PM
Windows Media Player?
Posted By: Flatfoot Re: Archiving CDs - 11/16/14 02:39 PM
I am a big fan of media monkey. It is the only software I know of that will let me rename and re-categorize a song while it is playing. Lots of other useful features.
Posted By: DennisD Re: Archiving CDs - 11/21/14 06:14 PM
Sorry for the tardy reply but just got back on line. Thanks for the replies. I'll give Media Monkey a try. DennisD
Posted By: trapper456 Re: Archiving CDs - 11/29/14 04:37 AM