PG Music Home
Posted By: JoanneCooper Need you like a hole in the head - 02/28/13 07:01 PM
Hi All

This is a song I have been fighting with since the year 2000! It is the one and only song I wrote before undertaking a song writing course in October 2012. My course teacher told me that, in its old format, it had no hope…too wordy..melody too boring..chorus too boring.. much too personal (it is in fact inspired by a personal experience)..no wide appeal…too repetitive…..etc, etc.!

But, all things go in circles and I got the inspiration to tackle it again a week or so ago and this is what I came up with. I chose a western swing theme (co-incidence that Don has also just published a western swing theme tune) and it seemed to fit the song quite nicely. The lyrics are on sound cloud

Please let me know what you think so that I can learn.

I appreciate anybody who takes the time to listen and comment.

Realtrack are:

RealTracks in style: ~~536:Bass, Acoustic, Pop Sw 120
RealTracks in style: ~~372:Guitar, Acoustic, Strumming Hank Sw 120
RealTracks in style: ~1128:Guitar, Electric, Rhythm WesternSwingWarmA-B Sw 165
RealTracks in style: ~812:Guitar, Electric, Rhythm Western Swing Sw 165
RealTracks in song: ~~1788:Banjo, Tenor, Rhythm DixielandMediumA-B Sw 110
RealTracks in song: 1874:Medley [8 bars] Fiddle, Mandolin, Piano, ResGuitar, PedalStSol WestrnSwPaulSw165, GuitarElSol WestSwBrentSw165,
RealDrums in style: NashvilleSwing8^1-a:Snare, HiHat , b:Snare, Ride

Need you like a hole in the head
Posted By: PgFantastic Re: Need you like a hole in the head - 02/28/13 07:54 PM
Sounds like a fine piece from here, Love the way you ended the further down. Thanks for sharing!

My Tunes
Posted By: sixchannel Re: Need you like a hole in the head - 02/28/13 08:03 PM
Hi Jo
Enjoyed that. It could almost be the females point of view of Floyds "Sure Enough".
I liked some of the rhymes - "the wringer" and "get any bigger", "merry-go-round" and "futher (sic) down".