PG Music Home
Posted By: Soundchaser Jeff's Waltz - 12/28/19 09:42 AM
OK, now that you've encouraged me, this was my first shot at something a little country, ever. A slow country-ish instrumental. https://soundcloud.com/rtk-iv/jeffs-waltz

This was my first shot altogether with Real Band, about 3 years back. My computer didnt like the software, so I upgraded, and now I'm ready for more projects.

Used reacomp on some of the instruments, and ambient for reverb. Here's a pic of RTs used.

Thanks, and I would appreciate some critical input as to the recording, effects. and that stuff. I'm fairly new in my learning curve.
Jeff

Attached picture Jeff's Waltz.jpg
Posted By: floyd jane Re: Jeff's Waltz - 12/28/19 11:25 AM
Jeff,

A pleasant listen. A good choice of instruments for this style of instrumental.

The balance (levels) in the mix is good for the most part. The drums could be slightly louder.

You might consider panning some thing "less hard". Particularly your lead instruments. Having them off-center a bit is fine (since you have leads on both sides), but if you pan them "just some" - maybe 25% to a side (instead of 100%), it would give a better balance for the ears. All subjective, of course.

fj
Posted By: Soundchaser Re: Jeff's Waltz - 12/28/19 11:46 AM
And all appreciated, thank you! I was thinking the same when I listened to this again this morning. Probably a little comp and lower in the lead instruments as well.
Posted By: MarioD Re: Jeff's Waltz - 12/28/19 01:14 PM
Originally Posted By: floyd jane
Jeff,

A pleasant listen. A good choice of instruments for this style of instrumental.

The balance (levels) in the mix is good for the most part. The drums could be slightly louder.