PG Music Home
Posted By: George Ireton Should I buy this midi keyboard? - 08/19/14 03:39 PM
I am not sure if this is the right forum category to post such a question as this. Please feel free to move it or let me know.

I am very new to biab and am a guitar player. I also can use the keyboard (chords) but not performance level. I read where a midi sequencer can be a great tool for biab and entering melodies etc.

There are soooo many keyboards out there at so many price points, I am a bit overwhelmed. Now to the problem at hand.

There is a local furniture consignment store here that just happens to have a couple of 88 key M-Audio keyboards. A no frills one (Keystation 88 ES) and one with all the faders etc. They only want $40 each for them because there is no pedals, power supplies etc. I have seen the simple one (used) at the music store for $200.

So do you think I should take a risk and get those, in the hope of finding the pedals and power supplies? Will they work (drivers) with my Windows PC? Thinking about re-selling the simple keyboard just to cover the cost of buying both, thereby getting a free one! Always good.

What think ye?
Posted By: Ryszard Re: Should I buy this midi keyboard? - 08/19/14 04:28 PM
Do it, George. You can get power supplies at Radio Shack if you can't get OEM parts. Generic expression pedals start at around $15. Wish I'd seen them before you—I'd like to step up from my M-Audio 49-key jobbie. Good luck!

Richard
Posted By: Charlie Fogle Re: Should I buy this midi keyboard? - 08/19/14 04:32 PM
If they are in working order, I would buy them. Power supplies and drivers can be obtained for both most likely. Power supplies for certain.

Charlie
Posted By: George Ireton Re: Should I buy this midi keyboard? - 08/19/14 04:46 PM
Howzat 49 workin' out for ya' Richard? You can have the 88 for what I pay $40 (or less if I can get it)plus shipping.
Posted By: Ryszard Re: Should I buy this midi keyboard? - 08/19/14 07:31 PM