PG Music Home
Posted By: Kemmrich Dang, this stuff is tough! - 09/24/15 04:51 PM
Inspired by eastside eddie, I am trying to finish mixing my songs for my CD (that I have been putzing around on for a couple of years at least!).

I loaded in about 6 or 7 Jimmy Buffet songs from A1A and White Sports Coat amongst my tunes so I could get a relative feel for the sounds and levels.

fergetaboutit! Those JB tunes just sound wonderful. Perfectly mixed, you can hear everything and they have a "sheen" to them that I can't get. Plus they are great songs! My songs just have a "dullness" about them I can't shake. Oh well, what can you do except press forward,

I do realize that they were recorded and mixed in a fine studio and mixed and mastered by folks who knew what they were doing (and on analog, of course). This doesn't do a wav file justice, but here's a sample song: My Lovely Lady by JB. By the way, I do believe that is Steve Goodman playing the acoustic lead stuff.

Maybe I will load some versions to Soundcloud and ask a few folks to do 30 second tests and see what they think.
Posted By: Charlie Fogle Re: Dang, this stuff is tough! - 09/24/15 09:48 PM
Eddie trusted other ears to mix and master his CD. He concentrated on getting clean, good tracks with headroom.

So write the best songs you can, record them the best you can, make judicious real track choices and find the best person you can to mix and master it.

Charlie
Posted By: dcuny Re: Dang, this stuff is tough! - 09/25/15 03:30 AM
Originally Posted By: Kemmrich
I loaded in about 6 or 7 Jimmy Buffet songs from A1A and White Sports Coat amongst my tunes so I could get a relative feel for the sounds and levels.

Sounds like a great start.

Let's talk about the "dullness" a bit more.

One common problem is that as you add tracks, low frequencies start piling up, and cause a sort of "muddiness" that might be like what you're describing.