PG Music Home
Posted By: Labern Not So Easy To Use - 08/06/12 09:29 AM
Hey,

For my wish list the first thing I want is a better User Interface.
More simplified menu without all the repeated links.
Nicer icons.
Ability to remove or add icons and items from the main screen.
I have been learning an instrument and using BIAB for 2 years now, I don’t know all the musical terms and im not some musical wiz. Yes I find entering a few chords and choosing a style then click play is easy, but I would like to liven it up a bit or to get it sounding a bit more like the song im learning. I end up sifting through menu's and screens and never really get that far.
A more simplified version would be nice without the more technical stuff as im sure I would only use about 5% of what is there.
Posted By: John Conley Re: Not So Easy To Use - 08/06/12 12:48 PM
What you asked for to configure icons, remove keyboard etc, that's there.

Dumbing down a music education, not so much.
Posted By: Cerio Re: Not So Easy To Use - 08/06/12 04:04 PM
You can hide the on-screen piano through Opt.->Preferences->Display->Show on-screen piano.

You can rearrange and remove icons on the main screen, but, unfortunately you can't actually remove the whole icon area, wich would free some space on the main screen.

BIAB is a musical gem and a true gift for musicians, but I also think that the program would benefit a lot with a much simpler, customizable and cleaner interface. That would not only improve the workflow for existing users, but possibly attract a lot of new and potential users as well.

Some ideas: implement a Right Button -> Options system for every element on the screen (I'm thinking on how Reaper works), implement a proper zoom and resize system for every on-screen element, add visual markers, rewrite the actual Stylepicker window (wich still is, in my opinion, one of the weakest areas of the interface)...
Posted By: Labern Re: Not So Easy To Use - 08/06/12 11:43 PM