Print Thread
Go To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#143823 12/28/11 04:03 PM
RealBand
P
OP Offline
P
Hi....while I've been learning how to make backing tracks in BIAB and also bring them into RB for adding more midi instrument files or already existing audio files, I'm a total novice when it comes to the idea of recording something "live" into RB. I've made a few tracks in both BIAB and RB and now want to try to add myself both vocally and on my horn(I'm a trumpet player) to make a demo CD,etc. Is RealBand like a recording program to be able to do this?(not that I'm knowledgable on those either,heh) If so, what do I use to plug mics into and/or where would that plug into the computer? Am I able to have "playback" of the existing song while I record?

Any suggestions or help is greatly appreciated.

thanks,
Phil

RealBand
Journeyman
Journeyman
Indeed. This is exaclty how I use Real Band. Do the arrangement in BIAB, then bring it into RB to add my 'live' playing parts, vocals etc.

You will need some kind of interface between your mic, guitar and the computer. Check into M-Audio Fast Track Pro, Tascam models.. both make USB interfaces that should work well with Real Band. You will need to use ASIO drivers for low latency during tracking the live stuff along with your tracks.

More detailed info will follow soon by the more veteran type guys.

http://m-audio.com/products/en_us/FastTrackPro.html

http://tascam.com/product/us-144mkii/

Last edited by MitchC; 12/28/11 04:15 PM.
RealBand
Veteran
Veteran
Yes you can have playback at same time, as long as 'Full Duplex' is enabled in the audio options (it's been many years since that was an issue on most systems).

Is it a desktop or laptop? This will affect choices. Do you have a PCI slot available (if desktop)
Do you have a USB 2.0 port available if a laptop?