https://www.weeklystandard.com/dominic-green/john-coltrane-and-the-end-of-jazz

Richie Beirach's rebuttal:

"Dear Mr Dominic Green,

Reading your article "Coltrane and the end of jazz" was a painful experience for me and many of my close friends.
My name is Richie Beirach and I am a professional jazz pianist/composer with over four hundred cds released in the last 50 years.
I am feeling frustration, anger and finally, sadness reading through your article many times. With all that said I must write a retort and try to help you see how incredibly wrong you are in your basic premise about John Coltrane’s status.
Trane did not precipitate the end of jazz. This music did not start to die with Coltrane’s playing on Kind Of Blue. The modal void you speak of was not a void but a great opening up of fresh and brilliant possibilities for generations of innovative musicians including Freddie Hubbard,Joe Henderson, John McLaughlin, Dave Liebman, Steve Grossman, Michael Brecker, Randy Brecker, Tony Williams, Jack DeJohnette, Herbie Hancock, McCoy Tyner, Wallace Roney, Kenny Garrett…need I go on further?
You might be a professional writer with knowledge of music but you are writing in many instances way over your head in terms of technical accuracy. Your own musical limitations in terms of the ability to actually hear what is going on in Trane's music has lead you into making unfortunate and flat out wrong assumptions.