PG Music Home
Posted By: FracturedJams Bar Setting problems with RealTracks - 01/02/11 09:47 PM
I've been waiting for this version of BIAB for years--literally (I finally upgraded from 2006). The feature I wanted most was the ability to arrange songs by having complete control over the instrumentation throughout the song. Only problem is, it isn't working properly. This may very well be a bug, but since I'm a newbie to RealTracks, I need to know if there is something I am not doing right.

To see what I am talking about, set up a simple 4-bar chorus to repeat several times (I chose 3). Enter a progression e.g. C|F|Dm|G. I wanted to keep it simple, so I left the style that was already selected and chose to override with RT/RD instruments. Here's what I've got (note that I muted the Piano track):

****** Song Summary *************
Title: Untitled Song
Key=C , Tempo 100, Length (m:s)=0:48
No intro. 4 bar chorus, from bar 1 to bar 4. Repeat x4 choruses
No Melody
No Soloist track.
Song is saved with Volume, Pan, Reverb, Chorus, Bank0,
Song is saved with bar changes for Volume Changes,
Soloist is saved with the song : Pop 16ths. Crusaders (135)
Style is C_FAITH2.STY (Faith 2 - Top40 Country Bluesy-R)
(PIANO--MUTED) Style MIDI Instruments are : Bright Piano (2),
(BASS) RealTracks in song: ~572:Bass, Electric, Blues BB Ev 085
(GUITAR) RealTracks in song: 573:Guitar, Electric, Rhythm Blues BB Ev 085
(STRINGS) RealTracks in song: 626:Harmonica, Background Travis Ev 085
(DRUMS) RealDrums in Song: NashvilleEven8^1-SideStick,Ride

Press F5 on the first bar and select Chorus 2. Adjust the Strings volume to "Change by" 30 and change the Strings RealTracks selection to "601 Fiddle, Soloist Train Ev130."
With bar settings still open, select Chorus 3. Adjust the Strings volume to "Change by" -30 and change the Strings RT back to "626."
Now click the OK button to close the Bar Settings window.

Hit play. Where is that daggummed fiddle?! And why isn't the harmonica at least louder?