PG Music Home
Posted By: Budmanvet Laptop PC audio output to amp/speakers - 07/31/14 12:13 PM
Newbie here of about 3 weeks. I have a Korg SV 1. Use a Roland amp speaker no mixer. Just bought a JBL LSR 305 5" as a practice amp. I would like to run the audio from my Dell Inspiron 1464 where BIAB lives to these speakers. In the BIAB MIDI/Audio Drivers setup window I currently have no MIDI input driver chosen. MIDI output is set to Microsoft GS wavetable Synth. Synthesizer/Sound Card is set to General MIDI instrument Misc. I have have not altered any settings....all are factory default/ recommended.
Eventually would like to gig with the Roland amp.
Thanks,
Bud
Posted By: Lloyd S Re: Laptop PC audio output to amp/speakers - 07/31/14 02:00 PM

Bud...

Here's what I would do to at least get started:

If you can hear audio from your internal speakers on the Dell, you can just use an audio cable from your "headphone out" jack to your "Roland amp speaker", providing it has an available input to use alongside the Korg.

Not sure how you want to use the JBL.
If it's just for practice as you suggested, run the audio cable to it instead of the Roland. If you want to use the JBL as a monitor, see if the Roland has an "output" you can use to send the signal to the JBL.

You may or may not be satisfied with the "quality" of the sound you get. It stems from your chosen output driver, i.e. the MS GS wavetable synth.

Try the above and report back. If you need more info, let us know and we'll see what else we can do to help.

Good luck!
LLOYD S
The headphone jack is OK, but a USB to MIDI interface should give you better fidelity (wider audio bandwidth) and no crackling if you accidentally bump the cable.

They are quite inexepensives

Insights and incites by Notes
Posted By: Budmanvet Re: Laptop PC audio output to amp/speakers - 07/31/14 05:16 PM
Lloyd and Bob,