PG Music Home
Posted By: Sue Sound expectations - 05/04/09 05:10 AM
I am really a newbie here, so apologies in advance. I have had biab for a year on my laptop (that belongs to my school district) with windows xp and really like the idea of it. However, the sound quality is making me crazy. It sounds tinny to me. When I listen to recordings that people have made it sounds pretty good. So, is it my speakers, the sound card or something I don't know about? I googled biab songs and found people selling versions of songs I want to do (I am currently working on a version of "let's go to the hop"), but is that necessary for me to spend more money on songs? The verision of biab that I bought a year ago has LOTS of different styles.

I did call the help phone number awhile ago and the guy had me change something on my laptop-it was apparently only using the basic sound card that came with the laptop. But, even with this change, it still sounds kind of crummy to me.

Thanks,
Sue
Posted By: Jazzman Re: Sound expectations - 05/04/09 07:21 AM
Hi Sue.

You can improve things a lot

It is not BIAB as it has no sound source so it is a combination of the laptops soundcard and speakers

The small laptop speakers do not give you a quality audio sound

To keep the cost down install a soft synth like specifically VSC DXi (on some of the BIAB disc's) or Forte Coyote (also available from PG Music) for a better sound source plus some good external speakers like Bose - Soundblaster etc

Although the soft synth uses the soundcard to transport the sound the soft synth by-passes the in-built soundcard sounds

jazzman
Posted By: John Conley Re: Sound expectations - 05/04/09 11:21 AM
I'd try the Dxi synth (check the box in Opts -- Midi) and use a good set of headphones. I think that will give you an idea.

There is a dare to compare here on the pg website with various options availaibe to 'test drive'.