PG Music Home
Posted By: Andy A - USA Wonky... - 08/23/16 12:16 AM
Ok, something weird has occurred. I'm not a techie, so be gentle. Out of the blue I was not able to launch BIAB (2016). I rebooted, shut down the CPU for while, still wouldn't load. I found a suggestion to remove or rename the intrface file. That did work and BIAB loaded.

But now it's wonky. Sometimes it won't locate RealTracks and sometimes will. It takes 10-20 minutes to regenerate. ALL my lyrics no longer appear. And I get the error message that no bass/snare/etc drum is assigned to the default kit.

I did the factory reset, and that fixed the locating RealTracks issue, but nothing else.

So, is it ever time to just uninstall/reinstall the program?
Posted By: GHinCH Re: Wonky... - 08/23/16 05:26 AM
We need a little more information. But one thing is for sure: You should never need to uninstall/reinstall the program. BIAB runs in a "world of its own" since it does not register with Windows.

Is it only BIAB?
Are other programs affected?
Which operating system?
Which harddrive?

Maybe more questions arise after the answers.
Posted By: Noel96 Re: Wonky... - 08/23/16 06:20 AM
Also...

Are you running BIAB from hard disk installation or a USB drive?

What antivirus software are you using?

Have you tried right-clicking on the BIAB shortcut and setting its properties so that it runs in Administrator mode?

Lastly... There are actually two files that need to be renamed or removed to return BIAB to factory settings. These are the one you mention, "intrface.bbw", and "mysetup.dk"

Posted By: Andy A - USA Re: Wonky... - 08/23/16 03:51 PM
Thanks, guys. Noel, deleting (I renamed it) mysetup seems to have done the trick. Thanks!

My lyrics on the Chord Sheet are missing on all songs now. Any suggestions? Probably something simple. I cannot select a lyric cell in the rows. It took me forever to get lyrics in them to begin with.

(I'm running MS Defender for virus/malware)