PG Music Home
Posted By: Rich59 BIab and RealBand Synth question - 03/14/18 10:56 AM
It is my understanding in Realband that in order to add a synth as a vst plugin I use the icon that says VST/Synth. I then can pick an instrument from my synth, assign it to a track and record that track via midi. Is this correct?

Now, in BIAB I only see one icon for vst plugins. I assume I would use that icon to add the synth to BIAB. Now at this point if I want to add a midi track from the synth how would I go about doing this?

Lastly, can I take a BIAB midi track and simply substitue a midi instrument from the synth software? If yes, How do I do that?

Thanks for your help. I am new to this and a bit confused.

FYI- The software synth is Arturia's Analog Lab 3
Posted By: Noel96 Re: BIab and RealBand Synth question - 03/14/18 03:47 PM
Rich,

1. The easiest way is by using the 'Plugins" tab on the mixer (#1 on image below).

2. Select the left [none] (#2) as this is the synth location (the other three [none] are for effects).

3. Select dropdown menu #3 and then load the synth from the list #4.

Regards,
Noel

Attached picture vsti synth loading via plugins tab.jpg
Posted By: Rich59 Re: BIab and RealBand Synth question - 03/14/18 07:54 PM
Okay , I have done that but when I got to the synth sounds and select a preset nothing changes. I am on the midi piano track and all I get is piano. No other sounds no matter what I choose.
Posted By: rharv Re: BIab and RealBand Synth question - 03/14/18 07:57 PM
The track is likely sending a message via MIDI to use patch 1 (patch change) .. or the MIDI channel to Patch routing inside the synth itself are causing the issue.

What synth are you trying it with?
Posted By: Rich59 Re: BIab and RealBand Synth question - 03/14/18 07:59 PM
Arturia Analog Lab 3 I just realized the synth sound does not occur until I record midi and then play it back
Posted By: rharv Re: BIab and RealBand Synth question - 03/14/18 08:08 PM