PG Music Home
Posted By: JackBeusch Force A-Section for Realstyle-Guitar - 07/03/10 06:50 AM
Hi
I am new with BIAB and have the following problem:
I don't like the B-part of the selected Guitar-Realstyle. How can I force the guitar to stay with the A-style while the band is going to the B-Section?
Jack
Posted By: Mac Re: Force A-Section for Realstyle-Guitar - 07/04/10 03:01 PM
Well, you could change all the Part Markers to the A style, then generate just the Guitar part and FREEZE it.

Now go back and put the A and B part markers where you want them and generate the other parts, they should respond to the part markers again while the Frozen track stays put.

Be advised that there is also a Global setting (Prefs ->Arrange, I think, without checking) that may have to be turned off if you don't have the song laid out as One Long Chorus. You don't want the "Play middle choruses in B substyle) to override that manually selected "All A's" in the middle choruses when generating your guitar part.

There are other ways, for example, if you are using a particular Style file that happens to have all the parts in it, you could Edit the Style such that the guitar has only the A patterns played by inserting all the A patterns into the B pattern blocks as well, then save that style under a new name so you don't overwrite and lose the original. I'd only do it this way if it was necessary to use that style in live performance all the time or something, though. It could get tricky.

And - My ways may not be the only or the easiest ways. Someone else may come along with another way that is more elegant.

--Mac
Posted By: infotechproximity infotech - 07/06/10 11:46 AM