PG Music Home
Posted By: laowai Using BIAB for basic rhythm exercises - 09/17/09 05:28 PM
I just downloaded the demo of BIAB and am very impressed.

I am a beginner student of jazz piano. Right now I'm using ABRSM's "Jazz Piano From Scratch" book + CD. The book has lots of great exercises for building basic skills. For some of the rhythm exercises, the book suggests using a drum machine or a partner, but I think BIAB should work great.

Right now I'm trying to set up BIAB to do a "call and response" or "trading fours" rhythm exercise in which the drums would play an improvised rhythm for two measures and then leave a gap, also of two measures, for me to fill in a response. This is different from the "trading fours" function in Soloist since it only involves rhythm, no melody. Here's the solution I've come it with so far --

1. I set the style for DRUMSOLJ which is just drums.

2. I filled in the following repeating pattern of chords: C C | C. C. | C C | C. C.| etc. (that is, 2 measures of computer-generated drumming followed by a 2 measure silent break).

3. I lowered the tempo down to around 70-80 BPM for starters.

This solution is working pretty well. The drums play a random improvised solo for 2 measures then leave me a space to either practice echoing the question or create my own answer. However, it still needs tweaking. Here are the two problems that I haven't solved yet:

1. The default BIAB setting seems to allow the drums to only loosely follow the play/break/play structure. That is, every so often the drums "bleed" into the third measure or start early in the fourth measure. This may be more realistic and desirable later, but for right now I'd like to figure out a way to get the drums to strictly play only during the first 2 measures and then go silent for the entire next two measures.