PG Music Home
This is an absolute Novice RB question.
I have been using BIAB for quite a while and my workflow has always been to export all tracks in BIAB as wavs to my old DAW (Cakewalk GTPro2 from 2004)and mix and mess with it in there.
Despite it always having been there I have avoided RB apart from the odd foray into it.
BUT - I think I MUST get to know it and use it. Having messed with it a bit and got to grips with the fact that things arent where they are in BIAB I created a chord sequence, a style etc etc and it made me wonder -
WHY do we need BIAB at all if everything can be done in RB that can be done in BIAB?
Its not a trick question.
Ian
For me, I like using BIAB first because I generally find it easier to quickly audition styles, regenerate parts and the parts start playing sooner in BIAB (because RealBand has to generate the whole song before it starts playing and BIAB doesn't), the BIAB interface is geared more towards making song structure, chord, and style changes.

Once I've gotten everything generally how I want it in BIAB, I then move to RealBand for the task of adding additional tracks, vocals, other live instruments, etc.

Both work nicely together, IMHO.
Thanks John
Astute observation.
Thanks
Ian
I do the same for all of those reasons.
Originally Posted By: jford
For me, I like using BIAB first because I generally find it easier to quickly audition styles, regenerate parts and the parts start playing sooner in BIAB (because RealBand has to generate the whole song before it starts playing and BIAB doesn't), the BIAB interface is geared more towards making song structure, chord, and style changes.

Once I've gotten everything generally how I want it in BIAB, I then move to RealBand for the task of adding additional tracks, vocals, other live instruments, etc.

Both work nicely together, IMHO.

Ditto.

--Mac
Thanks,guys
One of my plans for 2014 was to make myself use RB as my DAW.
Then I found I could do loads of BIAB things in it.