PG Music Home
Posted By: DianaGoulart Going from Win to Mac - 02/11/11 06:57 PM
Hi! I have used BiaB for many years (Win version) and I love it. It is my companion for the singing classes I teach. Now I got a MacBook pro, and plan to use it instead of my old Dell.
I will wait for the 2011 version, but want to be sure of my new workflow. I know there is no audio recording track in BiaB for Mac, and there is no Real Band for mac. So I have to use some other sequencer. I started playing around with Garage Band, but I believe there must be other options more suitable for music education use.
In fact I generate a song accompaniment, or a vocal exercise, or a nice 16-bar sequence for vocal impro, then I want to record the student's voice. This must be done quickly, in the classroom, during the lesson.
Any suggestions?
Thanks !
Diana Goulart, from Brazil
www.dianagoulart.com (sorry, my site is in Portuguese...)
Posted By: Svenne Re: Going from Win to Mac - 02/11/11 11:47 PM
Biab + GB is the solution. If you drag&drop from the combo button, the arrangement would be in GB in seconds.
The PC side uses Realband for this, but GB wins when it comes to ease of use.
Posted By: DianaGoulart Re: Going from Win to Mac - 02/12/11 12:31 AM
Thanks for your help, Svenne! I'm getting more and more confident regarding BiaB for Mac. I'm glad that GB works fine with Biab.
Posted By: jazzsax Re: Going from Win to Mac - 02/13/11 01:33 AM
Svenne offers good advice. It should be noted that using that method will give you
all of the instruments on one track in GB.

If you eventually wish to edit, mute tracks, pan etc. you will want to go to the
Audio box under the keyboard and select individual real tracks and individual midi tracks.

However, this process does take a bit longer.

Good Luck
Posted By: DianaGoulart Re: Going from Win to Mac - 02/14/11 12:57 PM