PG Music Home
Posted By: rbsoulman searching for computerized music stand... - 02/24/11 06:05 PM
Howdy.

I am a musician/event producer and educator based out of Whitehorse, YT in northern Canada. I spend a lot of time in schools (across the country) using music as a tool to teach curriculum to students. Not just music but social studies, math, home ec, geography, anything goes.

one of the more popular programs i've developed is a songwriting program.
– the class suggests various topics that they’d like to write about
- the class collectively edit the topics/ideas into a manageable number.
- the class starts putting the ideas into lyric form.
– I help the kids feel out what kind of musical genre – (rap, rock, R&B, country, etc) will best suit their lyrics.
- Accompanying the kids on guitar, I coach the kids through some rehearsals of their new song and then record it on a digital recorder and then downloaded onto the classroom computer.

This is a very successful program. I have come back to schools a year later and kids can sing me back their song. Which means they learnt the curriculum topic.

HERE'S MY PROBLEM:
At this point i have three 2" binders full of lyrics. I'm tired of carrying them around! Often a student will ask for a song they're written or heard on a previous visit and i can't always accommodate them.

There must be some sort of "computerized" music stand out there? Something i can input everything into and pull up the tunes i want. It needs to be bigger than a laptop or ipad - i need to be able to see the entire lyric in "18 point" font - old eyes.

Can anybody point me in the right direction?

many thanks.
RB
Laptop with a good sized hard drive and an external projector?
My eLocity tablet has an hdmi port. It could go to a monitor OR one of those new 300$ small projectors, Best Buy sells them here.

With a 16 GB mem card in the tablet there is ample room for lots of scanned stuff.