PG Music Home
May I ask this question?

Do you spend a lot of money to buy sheet music?

I normally spend about $30 per month buy. In fact I would like to spend more, but I don't know if it is too much for an average person.

How about you?

Thank you
$0.00

I don't buy sheet music any more. When I was a young fellow, and learning piano and guitar, I would buy sheet music to the popular songs of the day because my piano teacher permitted me to use it and play it in the lessons. She reasoned that it was music, and it was written, therefore, it was good.

I have quite a box filled with classic sheet music, such as Love is Blue, Happy Together, etc.....
Originally Posted By: fantasyvn

I normally spend about $30 per month buy. In fact I would like to spend more, but I don't know if it is too much for an average person.

You must be a keys player? smirk As a guitarist I have much less need. But I do pick up a sheet or two over the course of a year if I am working on tune and get stumped by the progession and want to get it right.
As a brass band player, the band bought the music, not me. However, for my own purposes and as Guitarhacker said, while learning to play I did buy quite a lot of popular type music with a similarly understanding teacher, playing anything is good practice if playing it correctly.
I then found that with the aid of BIAB, and quite a few other music programs and especially those that can display notation, I discovered the world of free MIDI music available on line, and haven't bought sheet music since.
Besides which, with those programs, I used to write my own rubbish, mainly to deliberately set myself hard stuff in order to get better at playing it.
Just put some chords together, ask BIAB to put a melody to that, then set to a fast tempo, bring up the notation to play from and then try to keep up, as an example.