PG Music Home
Hi folks,

Just wondering what stand alone tuner do you use for your guitar (other than the clip on headstock type)

I have been using this one for last 20 years, same as this one advertised on ebay, Wouldn't mind a second.

|Lock on guitar Tuner

I do a search now and again but very few available in UK and the US ones are usually a good price if I was to pay the cost to ship to here.

I have found it to be a great little tuner and so easy on batteries, usually I just reuse the smoke alarm battery (when it starts beeping in alarm) and get many more months of use out of it in tuner.

Tuner was really expensive 20 years ago £50 probably that equates to $70-80 at the time.

Musiclover
Rarely need a standalone tuner. Would not recommend Snark. Mine would read bad before the battery warning light said batteries needed replacing. My intellitouch works well. That brand started the clip on tuner market. Mine has worked since I got it in 2003 or so. These days I use the built in tuning function of my amp simulators or a couple different iPhone apps that work great and are free. Apps to check out are nTrack tuner and PitchLab tuners
I'm going to weigh in favorably on SNARK for a couple of reasons:

1) Price. They are very inexpensive

2) They're clip-on, so you can use them for acoustic instruments too

3) some of my other tuners only show EBGDAE... which is great for guitar, but useless for other instruments or for special tunings. Snark reports all of the notes

4) some tuners are 'jumpy", meaning when you pluck a string, the display rapidly reports a bunch of different notes, maybe getting confused by harmonics. I've found the Snarks to be pretty stable in that way.