PG Music Home
Posted By: map_collector My first BIAB - Rose Tinted Glasses - 06/03/15 12:43 AM
Hi all,

I am a newbie, and this is my first BIAB original. I have been trying to make my vocals sound richer but don't know enough about mixing so I keep making it worse. Thought I'd post before I totally destroy it. Actually the first song I've shared in probably 35 years.

SoundCloud - Rose Tinted Glasses

I am very happy with the BIAB results - less happy with my own.

These are the real tracks used.

***** Song Summary *************
Style is RoKPno34.STY
Style MIDI Instruments are : Strings (49),
RealTracks in song: 1192:Bass, Electric, PopRockWaltz Ev 140
RealTracks in song: ~1188:Piano, Acoustic, Rhythm PopWaltz Ev 120
RealTracks in song: 854:Guitar, 12-String Acoustic, Rhythm RockWaltzA-B Ev 140
RealDrums: RealDrums in Song: PopRockWaltzModernEv,Hat,Ride: a: Snare, HiHat b: Snare, Ride

Have at it! Any feedback, constructive or otherwise, is welcome.
Posted By: Rob4580 Re: My first BIAB - Rose Tinted Glasses - 06/03/15 07:20 AM
Not sure what the the initial sound was at the begging was but it took away a little from the song.
Good lyrics and well performed.
Good effort.
Rob
Posted By: floyd jane Re: My first BIAB - Rose Tinted Glasses - 06/03/15 11:15 AM
Hi Bart!

Welcome to the Showcase!

Some funny stuff in that...
"I wish expectations could just disappear
sit on a park bench just drinkin my beer
no need for rushin, my calendars clear"

A little "Tom Lehrer-ish" in spots (always a good thing!).
The instrumentation works well for the song, though the drums are a bit "overblown" (the playing style) for a song that the lyric should be heard clearly - something a bit more subtle might be better (there are more subtle waltz drum styles).

Your vocals sound fine to me!

floyd
Posted By: PatrickH Re: My first BIAB - Rose Tinted Glasses - 06/03/15 11:44 AM