PG Music Home
Well, after years of lurking, I'm finally going to post something that isn't a collaboration. As a song writer I don't hold a candle to anyone here. But as a presenter of weird ideas, I may have found my own niche.

This particular "art form" (if I may use the term loosely) requires "reasonable proficiency" in a number of directions, but mastery of none.

I should have taken more time with this but it's a spoof on Merlefest, and I wanted to post it to their web site in a timely manner. It may become an annual spoof of bands that are playing at Merlefest, so I'm referring to it as "episode #1" suggesting there may be more (but not this year)

link to the video: https://youtu.be/OolNxLDHEJA
======================================================
regarding the lyrics, I asked myself "what would a bluegrass playin' squirrel be passionate enough to write songs about?" There are things he loves and things that scare him, but he's determined to frolic in spite of the danger. This is what I came up with:

lyrics:
Well I'm a rodent if you please
the kind that climbs up trees
I love it when it rains and I get wet

I got a fuzzy little @$$
that just loooves to play blue grass
I play it each and every chance I get

My GPS tries to reroute me
and hunters sometimes try an' shoot me
none of that can steal my joy away

as long as festivals recruit me
& bands I'm with don't ever boot me
I'll keep on bein' happy every day
----------------------

My front two teeth are gappy
as squirrels go I'm quite happy
performing here for all y'all's the best

I'm joyful as can be
My spirit's been set free
appearin' on this stage at SkwerleFest

Though friends of mine sometimes upset me
and carnivores may try an' get me

If nature doesn't second-guess me
and folks like you show up and let me
I'll keep on playin' music every day
------------------------

Well I'm a happy little squirrel
Not a worry in the world!
except for... maybe cats and hawks and things

but what I fear the most