PG Music Home
Posted By: Jo O. Should I invest in BIAB? New to guitar playing - 09/16/13 09:53 PM
I really wanted a program that I could play some of the songs I want to learn. (Folk, rock, and some country) I wanted to put them into the program and strum along. Is BIAB what I want? Can I choose the songs I want to play along with? (and if so how?) I am not good at setting the tempo (I have a metronome and cannot set it)so it is hard to keep up with any song. Sometimes I am way ahead (most of the time this happens) and sometimes I am way behind. I would like a band in the room that I can play with? To songs I like. Is this possible? and is it learn-able for someone who does not have a music background, at all. Thanks for any help.

Joanne
YES, YES, YES and YES!

--Mac
First of all there are 1,000+ country, folk and rock styles and most of them have demos that you can play along with. ... and you can slow down the tempo until you can play along easily (and then speed up the tempo as you get better).

You can also pick a style, enter the chord progression to your favorite songs and play along to those. How "close" they sound to those songs depends on which style you choose and how much work you want to do (ha, ha).

It seems to me that BIAB was invented for this exact purpose.
You have described one of the things at which BIAB excels. Imagine a backup group with infinite patience, the ability to play in any key at any tempo (or any style, for that matter), and that is available to you at any time. It will do all that you ask and more. If you only make one musical investment in, say, the next 10 years, this should be it. cool

Hoping to welcome you to the BIAB community soon!

Richard
one thing biab will not do is slow down or speedup to match your playing

this is a good thing you can slow the playing down so that you can practice playing until you can play in time at the slower tempo and then increase the tempo gradually towards the desired tempo