PG Music Home
Hi, all. So I'm new to Band in a Box but one of the reasons I bought it was because of its claims of ease of use. This doesn't seem to be the case.

I was told by tech support that if I want to have a chord play on the second half of a beat, I have to go to the _next_ beat and then push the note backwards. So if I want to have a chord play on the and of 4 (4AND) I have to go to beat one of the next bar and push the note backwards across the barline. I have no idea how BB will notate the chord on beat one of that bar, and haven't even tried. In addition to being completely confusing, it's filling up bars which should be empty.

This is flat out ridiculous in 2016 for a program that costs over $500, especially when Microsoft now has a tablet that can annotate music drawn with a stylus. Band in a Box needs another layer level where users can choose which beat of the bar they want to place their notes on. Wikipedia tells me that BB was created in 1990 (I vaguely remember it in high school), but computer interfaces have come a long way since then. I don't know that I would have purchased this if I had known I needed to enter holds and shots with multiple periods. The days of DOS are over.

Get on it, PG Music.

Love,

An aspiring guitarist
In this respect, it would be an improvement if the program worked more closely to the way musical scores are written and played. If you want a note to occur later, you add a rest for the duration of the required delay, then add the note in the exact place you want it played.

You certainly don't tell the note on the following beat to start earlier.

A lot of this could be avoided if there were 8 beats per bar instead of a maximum of 4 - which has been asked for since the start of time (almost).

+1 from me.

Originally Posted By: VideoTrack

A lot of this could be avoided if there were 8 beats per bar instead of a maximum of 4 - which has been asked for since the start of time (almost).

+1 from me.