PG Music Home
Posted By: chumbo (Practice) Sight-Reading module - 03/24/16 05:23 AM
Hi,
BIAB needs a dedicated sight-reading module to probably fit in the 'Practice' section along with ear-training, etc...

I'm very new to BIAB and I came to it in desperation because astoundingly, in a world with 1000s of music software & apps, there still is no real dedicated music sight reading notation software!? Or at least, none that I've found to really do the job well enough.
And it then struck me...why not use BIAB for that! Great idea except, since it's not conceived with that in mind it of course lacks quite a bit but it's still the best solution I've found to date.

I use the Melodist to generate a melody which I then attempt to read at a ridiculously slow tempo because I'm a real beginner (in reading music that is, been playing music for +20 years).

However, as it is now, it's far from perfect because the only real variables I can play with are tempo and key, that's about it (although, with a bit more fooling around, I've been able to customize it a bit further).

So all that is needed to make it perfect is....
- the ability to set the difficulty in the notes and rhythms. I went to GIT in California some 15 years ago and they already had created the perfect software that ran on a DOS like PC! You set the note range i.e. from C1 to C2, then rhythm difficulty i.e. whole notes + 1/4 notes + 1/8 notes and that's it really!
It would then generate a random melody with those parameters and off you go!! It was PERFECT!! :-)

- RANGE. There's already the possibility to set the total playing range in BIAB. What would be needed is the ability to set the max interval range between notes. So for ex. a diatonic third. So the next note in the melody would never be further away than a third.

This sounds ridiculously simple to create as most features are already there, but what is missing is of course essential!
I imagine a software engineer could implement this on his lunch break!