PG Music Home
Posted By: Mike51 Downloaded MIDI files only load onto 1 track - 09/11/17 12:53 PM
I scanned through the beginner topics but didn't see this. I'm a beginner BIAB and retired music educator/pro musician.

When I download MIDI files from the web and load them into BIAB, everything goes to one track. I'd like to have the individual tracks in different channels to edit and tweak. And yes, they are midi files, not audio.

What am I missing? Thanks ahead of time!!
Welcome to the forum.

Try the green Sequence button, in the Tools tab.
That's how Midi works within BIAB. Midi will either load into the Melodist Track or the Soloist Track. Depending on the version of BIAB you have, PC or Mac determines your options to handle Midi. PC versions have a Midi sequencer/DAW and Mac does not.

Depending on which track the Midi file imported to in PC BIAB, you have some functionality using the BIAB Sequencer - A Green circle button located in the tools bar. You can mute, delete, rechannel, merge, move to the Melodist or Soloist Channel depending on the track the file imported to. Select patches or set velocity for individual channels. Finally, you can isolate the track and move all the other channels to the other associated Midi track (Melodist or Soloist).

The other six tracks are available for you to add additional tracks of RealTracks, Midi, SuperMidi and even live audio you record or import.

This allows you to have a combination of an existing Midi track play along in sync, time and key with generated BIAB tracks.

Charlie
Thank you!
Anytime. Read Charlie’s good explanation too.
Another way of doing it is to open the file in RealBand. It will seperate each track.
JoanneCouper,
I have the same problem too; in Realband works fine ... the tracks are separate ..... also the piano leadsheet is very readable.
Now I would like to save from RealBand to BIAB format. It's possible? How can I do?
Originally Posted By: casak
JoanneCouper,