PG Music Home
Posted By: RyanR Turned off ending but it still plays? - 10/21/17 02:54 AM
Hi! I'm brand new to BIAB. Well to tell the truth I bought BIAB 2016 for Mac a year ago but it was kind of complex and I gave up. Anyway I'm just now trying it again.

I was able to develop a simple 12 bar song. It has an auto-generated ending that I want to turn off. So I went into song settings and unchecked the option "Generate 2-Bar Ending for This Song". The ending (which starts with measure 13a) then greyed out. So I thought I was all set. But when I play the song the 2-bar ending still plays just as if it was not greyed out.

What am I doing wrong?
Posted By: RyanR Re: Turned off ending but it still plays? - 10/21/17 03:05 AM
I fooled around with this some more. It seems if I switch styles or if use use the "Generate and Play" button it will then turn off the ending (or turn it on).

What is going on here? And what does the "Generate and Play" button do? It says it "regenerates the arrangement". I looked this up in the manual but it is not clear what that means or when you are supposed to use it vs just the Play button.
Posted By: babarton Re: Turned off ending but it still plays? - 10/21/17 09:20 AM
My (perhaps simplistic) understanding of this is that once you have entered a song, it has to be "generated" to play (the process where the program creates all the instrument parts). Once you've done this, if you press "play", the program does not create all the parts again, it just plays what it has previously created - thus saving you the few seconds the computer takes to create all the parts. However, if you press "generate and play", the program again creates all the parts (and it will be slightly different from what was produced before).