PG Music Home
Hello, first post here, totally new to BIAB, a little confused by it all so I need a little help with what version / packs etc I need to buy. Here's what I need to do:

I'm a jazz bassist, and I'd like realistic backing tracks for all the Real Book jazz standards for practice / studying. I currently either use iReal Pro (useful but gets very repetitive) or I program songs in Logic (I don't play keys so this can be very time consuming).

I'm looking for as close to a realistic sound as possible, and I only need drums, keys and guitar, but they need to sound good. The closer I can get to a real jazz sound the better - I don't need soloing or melodies etc, just convincing comping.

Thanks in advance.
Firstly, a big welcome to the forums.

Your question is excellent and is often asked.

My recommendation is to go for a pak with as many RealTracks as you can comfortably afford.
The entry level Pro Pak probably won't give you the results you are seeking.

The Mega-Pak should be your base choice, or the Ultra-Pak if the budget stretches that far. (The Ultra-Pak gives you more than 2,500 RealTrack combinations)

Hope this assists in your decision making in some way.

Attached picture 2018-08-28_09-20-21.jpg
Videotrack is giving good advice.

There have also been folks who bought the Pro (starter) package but called PG Music Sales soon after to upgrade.

The actual program is the same; the differences are in how many RealTracks and styles you get.
A big welcome to the friendliest site on the web. All questions are answered here and you will never get a read the freakin' manual response.

I would definitely use RealTracks for your songs. I would purchase the largest package that you can afford. This gives you the most band for the buck. Also note that the engine is the same for all versions of BiaB, the only difference is how many MIDI styles, RealTrack styles and Realtracks you receive.

{edit} I see I was typing the same time as Matt was!