Next Thread
Print Thread
Go To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Off-Topic
Expert
OP Offline
Expert
When I studied Jazz guitar and later Jazz pedagogics almost all of my female colleagues were singers. How come? I have to say I`m a little pissed off with them. Most of them get on stage at a jazzsession with some stupid self-created arrangements, with dozens of sus4 chords that never resolve, they smoke me in the face on stage thinking they`re cool and none of them can scat over a regular II-V-I in a way that makes sense. Gosh, there are just 3 female vocalists here in Vienna that I consider musicians.

On Friday the Austrian version of "America`s/Britain`s got talent" startet. There were some funny guys with very creative ideas and guess what, ALL of the female performers were singers.
My suspicion is that they only want to be in the spotlight. Most of them don`t really want to work hard learning an instrument and not getting the benefits for it. That`s all so "girlie-chick"-like...

Gals, don`t hate me now, but I needed to say it...
Sandra

"GuitarVersum" YouTube Channel: Jazz Chord Melody Tutorials
Jazz Guitar Lessons | Jazz Guitar Gear Reviews
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCkT05N04ICdHgmDZrGYz-5A

Lesson Shop:
https://guitarversum.com/shop

Off-Topic
Veteran
Veteran
Sandra,

Option 1: Get all “dolled up” and strut across the stage and look sexy while singing, ……frequently with minimal talent, (as long as they look good while doing it).

Option 2: Spend years “woodshedding” on a difficult instrument like an acoustic guitar in order to master it, years of studying music theory, and countless late nights sitting up learning tons of jazz tunes so you can play them well.

Good for you for choosing Option 2.

Off-Topic
Veteran
Veteran
Quote:

When I studied Jazz guitar and later Jazz pedagogics almost all of my female colleagues were singers.

Simple answer. They are NOT musicians. They are vocalists.