Band-in-a-Box for Windows
D
dwebert Offline OP
Enthusiast
OP Offline
Enthusiast
D
Dear All,

yesterday I've upgraded to the new UltraPlusPak. Now I have an incredible amount of styles and real instruments (amazing).
Since I am a absolut beginner I like to know from you guys where and how I have to start to generate a backup track for a song to play along. How do I find a appropriate style out of the thousands and what comes next (drums, bass, ...) and in which order do I have to put things together to make it work. I'm probably not the first one asking this question so there are probably already existing answers somewhere here in the forum.
Any help is appreciated.

sep

Veteran
Online Happy
Veteran
Let's start by choosing a song to learn on. I'd start with something you like a lot, know the chords to and can play along with. One of my favorites is "Act Naturally" which was recorded by both The Beatles and Buck Owens. You can choose any song you want but it helps for the song to be easy (this one has four chords).

The next thing is to start populating the top of the screen with information about the song. The name of the song, Act Naturally, and what key you're going to compose the song in helps. I like the key of E for this song. I also know the three chords used are E, A and B. Now you need the answer to two more important items, what speed or tempo is the song and is the song in 3/4 (so called waltz time) or 4/4 time? Mentally I say to myself is the count for each measure 1,2,3 or 1,2,3,4. Set the tempo at 120 for now. The tempo can be adjusted while it playing so we just need to be close for now.

Now switch to the stylepicker. Styles select the initial set of instruments, if the instruments are midi or RealTracks and the feel of how the instruments are played.