Next Thread
Print Thread
Go To
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
Off-Topic
Journeyman
OP Offline
Journeyman
OK! I am not saying that anyone can’t get signed in the music business today! Is this a false hope in the music business in 2014 now or not? I am not a professional songwriter or anything I just play around with music just like most of us on this forum do. Since 2008 I and a friend have been Persuing songwriting. Late in 2010 my friend focused his attention in a different direction. So, we are not writing songs any longer together. Well, I myself have decided to kind of try to still reach for the brass ring but I am not sure at all how to do that. Some of the songs that I have written in the past I have shared on this forum but not all of them. I try to write about 3 songs per week since 2010 but I am not sure how to approach this thing about getting signed. I don’t really know that much about the music business nor do I want to, but since I want to get signed I suppose that I better bone up on it. I don’t have the first or slightest idea on how to approach this thing. I had heard in the past that it was ok to send out a demo to other record companies just to see if the are interested in signing you, but! Does it still work this way? I, at one time before I started writing my own songs was going to send out a demo of cover songs to record companies because of my singing voice just to see if the would recognize my talent. Then someone else enlightened me that you can’t do it that way anymore. As, I didn’t do that either. Since, I started writing my own songs though I own all copyrights and can do as I please with them. Well, the fact remains I don’t know how to Persuing this, but any help would be appreciated. Since 2010 I have written many, many songs and they are just sitting around on CD collecting dust. So, again I ask is getting signed to a record label dead or not. What I mean is it still possible to get signed by using the older method? Or, do I just try to release my o