Next Thread
Print Thread
Go To
Page 2 of 3 1 2 3
User Showcase
Veteran
OP Offline
Veteran
Digital Angel: Thanks and yes, country these days isn't the country I grew up listening to and playing when I was playing music for a living. It is morphing and is incorporating rap, and rock into the songs we hear on the radio these days.

Pat: There was a time when I first got BB/RB that I was using it and neglecting to play the guitar parts and other things that I had the ability to play. You gotta admit, it certainly does a fine job with acoustic and electric. And Brent Mason is certainly a few steps ahead of my meager skills on the fretboard. But I decided that I would start using my skills where I can and when I can. Not saying that you won't hear BM on some tunes but I really do like playing the guitar and so I shall.

Don: feel free to go back as many times as you wish. Listening to music as it is produced in the commercial world, many, many times, if you listen closely, the "less is more" theme will pop right out at you.

Josie: Yes indeed, this was likely one of those that I wrote for the simple joy of writing something I like. The problem is, too often, that's how most of them end up..... just once, I'd like to write something that the folks in N-town absolutely flip out over and so does the A&R dept for some big artist who's looking for one more tune to fill the 12 slots on their new mega-big CD project..... just once.... that's all I really want... ;-)

Alyn: I had been thinking about using that method to end a song. I just needed the "right song" to use it. This one worked. As far as "modern country"...yeah, apparently, from the feedback I get out of N-town, I don't know what it is either.

Thanks to all of you for listening and commenting.

You can find my music at:
www.herbhartley.com
Add nothing that adds nothing to the music.
You can make excuses or you can make progress but not both.

The magic you are looking for is in the work you are avoiding.