You need to be logged in to post on the forum
Topic Options
Index
#261021 - 08/31/14 07:46 PM [Band-in-a-Box for Windows] Is there a way to convert RealTracks to midi?
The Soundsmith Offline
Apprentice

Loc: Monterey CA
That's the whole question. There are parts I'd like at way slower tempos, or on different instruments. It would be a great boon to the student as well if the part were available in MIDI as well as the tab and big keyboard views.

Is this already possible? All I see are save as .wav or change the part. Thanks, I'm just learning what this guy WON'T do.

#261023 - 08/31/14 07:54 PM [Band-in-a-Box for Windows] Re: Is there a way to convert RealTracks to midi? [Re: The Soundsmith]
Guitarhacker Offline
Veteran

Short answer: NO

Not really. You can render any of the RB tracks to midi but the result is nowhere close to what you hear playing in the audio track. The midi ends up being generic.

I really wanted to do that with a piano track.... the music on the real track was freaking awesome but the rendering process left the sound lacking considerably. I wanted to convert it to midi and use one of my really nice piano synths to play it. Nope.... there was no way to accomplish that task.

Add nothing that adds nothing to the music

#261024 - 08/31/14 08:09 PM [Band-in-a-Box for Windows] Re: Is there a way to convert RealTracks to midi? [Re: The Soundsmith]
The Soundsmith Offline
Apprentice

Thanks - but not really still does mean it can be done, even if badly. I can tweak later, or use groove control to fit the feel, but where do I go to do the conversion? I don't see anything on the save to wav dialog options.

#261026 - 08/31/14 08:22 PM [Band-in-a-Box for Windows] Re: Is there a way to convert RealTracks to midi? [Re: The Soundsmith]
Matt Finley Offline
Veteran

Loc: Hudson Valley & Lake George NY
There are programs that can attempt this. The degree of success varies greatly. If the original audio is one monophonic instrument, success will be more likely.