Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread
Print Thread
Go To
Band-in-a-Box for Windows
OP Offline
I folks:

I'm relatively new to BIAB. I have BIAB2014, received as a gift. It came with a few Real Tracks and such. Not many mind you, but enough to make me appreciate how cool they are.

Anyways, I'm trying to make my first BIAB file. I wanted to take the sheet music for Vince Guaraldi's O Tannenbaum and make a BIAB file to use to play along as my band while I play on my upright piano.

Please understand, I'm kind of new at this. But I'm looking for some advice.

I created a new file and chose ZZJAZWAL.STY Jazz Waltz Style to get a 3/4 score going. (Took me the longest time to figure out time signature is tied to the style).

I edited my song settings to have (1) chorus. I really plan on manually creating the sheet music measures end to end, not really in a form of AABA or anything. Just plan on entering in all the bars manually for the whole song.

I've added the first 16 bars using chord notation in my BIAB file. WHen I play it, it kind of sounds bad.

So I was looking around at the Real Drums I got with my version. I Found something called 'jazz brushes' that seems to make it sound better. (it took me a while to figure out that most of my Real Drums are incompatible with 3/4 time).

Anyways, I guess it's a long winded way of asking if anyone has ideas for better Bass, drum, or other RealTracks (?) that might make the accompaniment sound better.

I have very few (maybe 6) basic Acoustic base RealTracks. Accoustic base simple and very simple work, but are boring. The four others just don't seem to match the feel of the song.

THe original Guaraldi version doesn't really have much more than drums (brushes), base, piano, I think.

But I was wondering if there's some other suggestions that might add some interest to the accompaniment? Maybe jazz guitar or something.

Anyways, this is just all for practice. It is my hope that I can use it to practice by.