Index
Next Thread
Print Thread
Go To
Post your own Tips and Tricks here
Enthusiast
OP Offline
Enthusiast
A while back, I posted about my experience using BIAB RealTracks to accompany a solo instrument and vocalist, for upcoming live gigs, as well as for recording associated demo material. That thread can be found here:

http://www.pgmusic.com/ubbthreads/showflat.php?Cat=0&Number=225589&an=0&page=0

You can hear samples of the music at http://www.myspace.com/elegancemusicinfo

Among the forum members who posted positive comments about my music was Peter Gannon, who also suggested that I post some details about the use of BIAB, and the recording session, to the Tips and Tricks forum. After some procrastination, here it is!

First, a disclaimer - I do not consider myself an "expert" in BIAB, or any of this stuff, for that matter. I'm still learning BIAB features and capabilities, like most of you. Yes, I've been doing audio for a long time, using various tools, but with the tools becoming as complicated as BIAB or modern DAW software, some concepts may have slipped through the cracks in my brain. So you may see some of what I'm doing as questionable or ridiculous - if so, please let me know so that I can stop my foolishness and do things in a better (or more logical) way. I'm always learning, and the PG Music forums have been, and continue to be, a great resource for my continuing education. Thanks!

Also, this is not an exhaustive diary of my setup & the recording session – it’s just an overall description to give any interested folks a fairly complete idea of how you could get results similar to mine, should you choose to tackle a project like this.

Even though BIAB is complicated and feature-laden, it's a testament to PG Music and the Band-In-A-Box developers that we can get excellent results in BIAB by knowing only some of the basics of the software.

Because there is a lot of information to post, I'll divide this up into four sections: