Next Thread
Print Thread
Go To
Recording, Mixing, Performance and Production
doogiet Offline OP
Enthusiast
OP Offline
Enthusiast
Hey, all. I'm a BIAB noob. I bought the 2010.5 version when I was working on the piano, but I've moved cities and the piano didn't fit into my carry-on so I've switched to the guitar.

I bought 2015 today and want to use BIAB to generate tracks for me to practice with. I suck, so things will only be in the key of C for now.

Is there a way for me to plug my electric guitar into my computer, and then plug my headphones into the computer so I hear both BIAB and the guitar in the same set of headphones? Right now I'm using an electric guitar without an amp and my laptop speakers kinda suck. I do have a Rocksmith cable that connects from my electric guitar to a USB port. Can I use this?

Little help? smile

doogiet

Veteran
Veteran
It would depend on your computer, but probably not going to find a happy ending going the short route as you describe.

Do you have an effects pedal you could run the guitar through? Or an amp with Line Out capabilities?
That would likely be your better option; most basic system do not handle guitar level signals very well .. line level is much more commonly supported.

Something like a Line6 POD, Digitech RP150 or a Behringer V-Amp would work if an amp is unavailable. The key is getting the low level guitar signal up to a line level signal.

Of course there are workarounds, but achieving joy is much easier with some kind of amp sim.

Make your sound your own!
.. I do not work here, but the benefits are still awesome
D
Apprentice
Apprentice
D
Hi, Doogiet.

Quote:
I do have a Rocksmith cable that connects from my electric guitar to a USB port. Can I use this?

I was able to go out on the web and within minutes had seen several examples of people stating happiness using what you have for inputting guitar with various DAW's. Here's one such:

Quote: