Page 1 of 2 1 2
Recording, Mixing, Performance and Production
L
Lucm Offline OP
Enthusiast
OP Offline
Enthusiast
L
Hi. I have lots of things to say. I hope this is not much trouble.

First off, I am new here. Hi.

Second and very important, I am not a sp@mmer! I signed up in another music forum earlier today, posted my question and got banned on the spot with a very curt message that accused me of sp@mming. I read that forum's rules and I don't believe I violated any rule. If I'm violating any rule here, please tell me what the problem is! I have read them, and I think I'm ok.

Now let's talk about music.

I am a beginner in this whole business, now I
need some mixing equipment and I have rather specific immediate requirements, but those requirements are likely to change in the future so I thought I would ask the opinion of more experienced people.

I like to make music at home, it's a new hobby and now I want to record my material. I play the piano/keyboard on a MIDI controller, and I sing. The only instruments I have are the controller hooked up to a computer, two tablets and my voice. I want to be able to monitor and record all those input sources (voice is usually added later, overdubbing) at the same time.

Again: I have a computer and two tablets (other sources might be added later), all of them with regular 1/8" TRS output jacks, generally meant for headphones. I want to be able to mix, monitor and record all those input sources at the same time.

I might want to buy a proper microphone, which I don't have yet. I currently record my voice on a Tascam DR-05 recorder, which is very basic and also has a regular 1/8" TRS output jack and kind of works as a poor man's audio interface when connected to the computer's mic input (the pink jack). I use Audacity to mix sources, I have been testing Ardour, but it seems to me that Audacity is a lot better.