Next Thread
Print Thread
Go To
#304228 07/26/15 05:57 PM
Band-in-a-Box for Windows
T
OP Offline
T
OK guys, forgive me I am only a drummer, so,.....
Anyway, just got BIAB Megapak. I want to make more drumless music for me to play with, and learn more about music to be more musician, and not "just a drummer."
Here is my question, I have entered chord changes from songs into BIAB and gotten some really cool results, but not what I was looking for. I understand styles affect the song results, but the songs, while they sound cool, sound nothing like the songs they are supposed to sound like! LOL! I would like to know how do I enter specific note values, so I can say a rest, followed by 2 1/8th notes played as a triplet, etc.
Really look forward to learning a lot with this program, and sorry for such silly questions to start with.
Thanks in advance,
Tom

RIT Rocks, Cancer Sucks!
Veteran
Veteran
Hi Tom

Firstly, Welcome to the forum!

When you mention 'specific note values', do you perhaps mean creating your own MIDI drums, or using the Chords for input but creating a rest on certain beats etc?

You can create a Rest for any beat in a Chord by following the Chord with a period character (1 dot)

From the help:
C. indicates a C chord that is a Rest.

C.. indicates a C chord that is a Shot.

C... indicates a C chord that is a Held Chord.

Nominate instruments that are supposed to play during a rest, shot, hold etc like this:

C.bd will put a Rest on all instruments except for Bass and Drums

Check out the help under "Rests, Shots, and Holds"

You can also Rest only certain instruments

BTW: No questions are considered silly on this forum!

Hope this is at least a starter

All the best

Trev

BIAB & RB2024 Win.(Audiophile), Sonar Platinum, Cakewalk by Bandlab, Izotope Prod.Bundle, Roland RD-1000, Synthogy Ivory, Kontakt, Focusrite 18i20, KetronSD2, NS40M Monitors, Pioneer Active Monitors, AKG K271 Studio H'phones
Expert
Expert
Hi Tom welcome.