Print Thread
Go To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#303608 07/22/15 12:08 PM
Recording, Mixing, Performance and Production
Veteran
OP Offline
Veteran
I'm a drummer and am wondering how far to go with fills. I know it depends a bit on the sound you are looking for, and to answer that, I'm looking for commercial country.

I am hesitant to put bigger drum fills in for fear of overplaying...yet, I hear the occasional great drum fill in many of today's commercial country songs.

I think of the songs Ringo played on, and artists like Tom Petty. Deceptively simple, yet perfect drum parts.

Yet, I feel I would like to add a fill in my songs as somewhat of a signature.

Then the questions start. Is it about the song or the drums? Is it about me showing I can drum or the song? Is playing a fill showing you can play, or showing a lack of maturity in my playing. Arg! LOL

Thoughts please! Do you like to hear a drummer put his occasional signature in, or prefer a wallpaper player?

Chad (Hope that makes it easier)

TEMPO TANTRUM: What a lead singer has when they can't stay in time.
Veteran
Online Content
Veteran
My thoughts are that every band member should think about the mix and how my part can fit. A drummer, guitarist, bassist, keyboardist etc that overplays their parts can deteriorate the blend and ruin the song.

In some songs the drummer can add lots of fills however in other songs a simple beat with few fills will be a better choice. It will depend on the song and the audience.

PS - the biggest offenders of overplaying are drummers and lead guitarist IMHO.

Me, it's not about how many times you fail, it's about how many times you get back up.
Cop, that's not how field sobriety tests work.

64 bit Win 10 Pro, the latest BiaB/RB, Roland Octa-Capture audio interface, a ton of software/hardware
Veteran
Veteran
Nothing like a perfectly timed, perfectly placed fill, regardless of the instrument.

Several of the songs I have done in BB have some awesome drum fills in a few places.