Go To
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4
Add-ons and UserTracks for Band-in-a-Box
J
Veteran
OP Offline
Veteran
J
I have noticed some folks make UserTracks using another library such as SampleTank. I would like to try this but I am wondering if there are any legal considerations? Usually, digital libraries specify you are licensed to use them in your works but not to repackage and distribute them. Wouldn't this count as repackaging and distribution?

Last edited by JohnJohnJohn; 04/15/16 05:58 PM.
Veteran
Veteran
I wouldn't think so since SampleTank and any other player you might use in this instace is being used as a sound module. I don't see where it would be any different than using sound from any other source.

But I'm not a lawyer and have not read the SampleTank EULA.

Jim Fogle - 2024 BiaB (1111) RB (5) Ultra+ PAK
DAWs: Cakewalk by BandLab (CbB) - Standalone: Zoom MRS-8
Laptop: i3 Win 10, 8GB ram 500GB HDD
Desktop: i7 Win 11, 12GB ram 256GB SSD, 4 TB HDD
Music at: https://fogle622.wix.com/fogle622-audio-home
J
Veteran
OP Offline
Veteran
J
I assume PG pays their RealTrack artists for session work and gets either full ownership of what was played or at least unlimited license.

In the case of UserTracks I certainly understand if I want to play and convert that to UserTrack it is no problem.

But what I think might be an issue is taking samples intended for use in songs, repackaging them in a different format (UserTrack) and then redistributing them for others to use in their songs without IK receiving any compensation for that use.

Last edited by JohnJohnJohn; 04/20/16 08:39 AM.
Veteran
Veteran