You need to be logged in to post on the forum
Topic Options
Index
#363953 - 09/05/16 04:04 AM [Band-in-a-Box for Macintosh] One track way too loud...
mark.ogier Offline
Enthusiast

Loc: Malvern, UK. Where the hills a...
Hi
I am a BIAB newbie so forgive me if this is a dumb question!
I am using an MGU file I found for the Jazz Standard 'Misty'.

I am using the Real Tracks style _SLOWBAL.STY which generally sounds great.
However, there is a track called Strings which plays the Melody AND String pads. Not sure how/why it has 2 things on the same track.
Anyway, the issue is that the melody part of this track is way too loud. I can reduce the volume of the track in the mixer but that pulls down the strings volume as well, which is fine without being reduced.
Is there some way of separating the Melody part (Played with a synth sound) from the Strings part so I can control them independently?
Hope that makes sense!
Cheers
Mark

Attachments
Misty.jpg

#363976 - 09/05/16 05:07 AM [Band-in-a-Box for Macintosh] Re: One track way too loud... [Re: mark.ogier]
Noel96 Offline
Veteran

Loc: Australia
Mark,

The _SLOWBAL style only consists of Bass, Piano and Drums. What you have on the Melody track seems to be suggesting that you've either created a melody or you've loaded in a midi file. Is this correct?

Regards,
Noel

#363993 - 09/05/16 07:50 AM [Band-in-a-Box for Macintosh] Re: One track way too loud... [Re: Noel96]
mark.ogier Offline
Enthusiast

Hi Noel
Thanks for the quick reply.
The MGU came off the Net. To be honest I have been trawling around all over the place looking for a set of Jazz standards to match up with what we are working on (Me Guitar, Wife singing). So it could have been from anywhere
But the arrangement seems quite good, just the problem with this track

So you may well be right that the person that uploaded the file had dropped in some other stuff for the melody line and strings