Print Thread
Go To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Off-Topic
Veteran
OP Offline
Veteran
Hi folks,

Just wondering what stand alone tuner do you use for your guitar (other than the clip on headstock type)

I have been using this one for last 20 years, same as this one advertised on ebay, Wouldn't mind a second.

|Lock on guitar Tuner

I do a search now and again but very few available in UK and the US ones are usually a good price if I was to pay the cost to ship to here.

I have found it to be a great little tuner and so easy on batteries, usually I just reuse the smoke alarm battery (when it starts beeping in alarm) and get many more months of use out of it in tuner.

Tuner was really expensive 20 years ago £50 probably that equates to $70-80 at the time.

Musiclover

Last edited by musiclover; 01/23/17 08:05 AM.

Musiclover

My music https://www.youtube.com/user/donegalprideofall

Windows 10 (64bit) M-Audio Fast Track Pro, Band in a Box 2024, Cubase 13, Cakewalk and far too many VST plugins that I probably don't need or will ever use smile
Off-Topic
R
Veteran
Veteran
R
Rarely need a standalone tuner. Would not recommend Snark. Mine would read bad before the battery warning light said batteries needed replacing. My intellitouch works well. That brand started the clip on tuner market. Mine has worked since I got it in 2003 or so. These days I use the built in tuning function of my amp simulators or a couple different iPhone apps that work great and are free. Apps to check out are nTrack tuner and PitchLab tuners

Off-Topic
Veteran
Veteran
I'm going to weigh in favorably on SNARK for a couple of reasons:

1) Price. They are very inexpensive

2) They're clip-on, so you can use them for acoustic instruments too

3) some of my other tuners only show EBGDAE... which is great for guitar, but useless for other instruments or for special tunings. Snark reports all of the notes