Next Thread
Print Thread
Go To
Recording, Mixing, Performance and Production
U
OP Offline
U
Dear Anyone.

I'm a wannabe New Age artist. I've got some lovely inexpensive sounds - but a bunch of great ones sound like they've been totally soaked in reverb even though I'm not using any. Some of them are in Kontakt Player, some in Irish Acts Infinity vst.

Now like I said above I've not put any effects on them. I've turned Release off in the DAW. I've kept the notes short (desperation tactics!) And they all sound like I've shoved a Grand Canyon reverb setting on them.

Thing IS, they're such lovely New Age sounds I REALLY want to use them. But I want to be the one controlling the reverb, not having their reverb controlling me! How do I take all the reverb off the sounds, leaving them bone dry and controllable, and then put back just the amount of reverb I want to? If the reverb is on the actual sound, how do I strip it off again?

Yours baffledly

ulrichburke

Veteran
Veteran
First I know nothing about your DAW or Kontakt or IAI. However if the sounds are bounced audio files, e.g., wav or MP3, and were bounced with reverb there is no way to remove it. For example if I apply reverb to a track in my DAW and then bounce or export it to an audio file then the reverb and any other effects are part and parcel of the track. Bringing it back into the DAW will not allow any changes to be made.

The VST and midi experts will know a LOT more than me.

Veteran
Veteran
Trying to get rid of existing reverb in audio is pretty impossible. That being said, if you are using Kontakt instruments, many of them have an effects page on the instrument interface where you can set the level of reverb (along with other settings), or turn them off completely. It's possible that is where your reverb is coming from; if so, you might be able to dial it back.

John

Laptop-HP Omen I7 Win11Pro 32GB 2x2TB, 1x4TB SSD
Desktop-ASUS-I7 Win10Pro 32GB 2x1.5TB, 2x2TB, 1x4TB SATA