Page 1 of 2 1 2
Beginners Forum
P
props2 Offline OP
Enthusiast
OP Offline
Enthusiast
P
Hello everyone,I am new with this recording stuff and would like to purchase a audio interface to run in BIAB.My main use is to produce backing tracks to play by bass to.I have a Fender p-bass with passive pickups and a 5 banger with active pickups.Do I need to be concerned on what interface model purchase with these different type of pickups? I have been looking at the Focusrite models. I dont know,what I dont know!!I would like to keep the price between 2 and 3 hundred bucks,not sure I need to spend that.

Thank you.

BIAB 2020 Ultrapak HP Elitebook 8770W Intel I7 2.3GHz 12GB
Windows 10pro 64Bit
Beginners Forum
Veteran
Veteran
focusrite scarlet is a good option. I've used focusrite for many years with total satisfaction in the job it does. Very low latency.

Be sure it has phantom power, built in audio preamps, and uses ASIO drivers. (no codecs, and other proprietary software drivers.)

Presonus, M-Audio, Roland, are also good options. The interface is the heart of your studio so be willing to get a good one.

Also... consider a decent condenser mic... not a USB model. Then, a decent pair of studio monitors will get you where you need to be. Total budget can be under $800 for all the parts.

You can find my music at:
www.herbhartley.com
Add nothing that adds nothing to the music.
You can make excuses or you can make progress but not both.

The magic you are looking for is in the work you are avoiding.
Beginners Forum
Apprentice
Apprentice
Hi Props2,

Another vote here for Focusrite interfaces. In the past years I have used many audio interfaces including the Edirol(Roland) and M-Audio. Currently using the Focusrite 18i20 (18 inputs - 20 outputs) The Focusrite Scarlett range starts with just 2 inputs and 2 outputs(stereo) upwards so depending on your recording requirements (how many tracks you wish to record at one time you may be able to work with less channels)