Print Thread
Go To
#43085 11/19/09 07:29 AM
Band-in-a-Box for Windows
raymb1 Offline OP
Veteran
OP Offline
Veteran
I'm shopping for a Win 7 laptop. Is the 64 bit OK? I'll be getting one with 4GB RAM and at least 250 GB hard drive. Would like suggestions on different brands. I've been using Dell for many years with no problems except those I caused myself. Later, Ray

Asus Q500A i7 Win 10 64 bit 8GB ram 750 HD 15.5" touch screen, BIAB 2017, Casio PX 5s, Xw P1, Center Point Stereo SS V3 and EWI 4000s.
raymb1 #43086 11/19/09 09:32 AM
Expert
Expert
Hi Ray,

At the moment the 64 bit does not have a complete range of drivers etc and although I would love to have it I have stayed with 32 bit for the time being - I feel that it is essential you get the best spec in HD and Ram

I have a new Acer Aspire 32 bit - I am using Windows 7 Home Premium and it is working like a dream with BIAB etc and so much better and faster than XP or Vista.

This is how Windows should have been to follow XP - sheer enjoyment to use - what a difference from the bloated and cumbersome Vista which only brought a more solid operating invironment

The only area you have to look at is if you have older programs/devices that you wish to use on your new machine - either get W7 driver updates or where not available yet run them in XP SP3 compatibility mode

I do not think that there is much difference between the leading brands and previously I had an HP for many years without problems
jazzman

BIAB - RealBand - 2022
Windows 10 64
Zoo computer with 7i processor- SSD 1TB -2TB HDD
Roland keyboards
Jazzman #43087 11/19/09 10:06 AM
Veteran
Veteran
I'm also staying with 32-bit for awhile, because of the driver issue. In another year, things may be different. In 32-bit, you will be able to use only a little more than 3 GB of your 4 GB RAM; the system reserves some of it. This is not a problem in a 64-bit OS, however.