Next Thread
Print Thread
Go To
#4384 01/12/08 07:39 PM
Post your own Tips and Tricks here
R
OP Offline
R
I'm new to PT Pro Audio. I have a Yamaha keyboard connected to my computer via a Tascam US 122. I'm using a standard 1/4 jack from the Yamaha Headphone jack into the Tascam and the Tascam uses USB to the computer. I've laid down a drum track and everything is fine. The problem occurs when I then lay down a piano track next. When I listen to it, it starts off fine, but then the piano gets off sync. I understand their are latency issues with MIDI but in this case, I'm not using MIDI. Any suggestions?

Expert
Expert
I'm not familiar with PT, but there could still be problems with latency - MIDI is not the only technology that takes time to process data, or in this case, signals.

Of course, someone more familiar with the devices you have may be able to give a more pertinent answer.

Another point, while I've seen it mentioned here quite a bit, the headphone jack is probably not the best signal source - better to use a line out if possible. Normally a headphone jack is set up to drive headphones:
a) 32 Ohm impedance rather than 600 Ohm or 47k,
b) NOT line level (1v peak to peak IIRC)
c) Also IIRC, there is some equalisation curve applied to make up for (headphone) speaker response deficiencies (a bit like the old RIAA curve for vinyl - this was done during recording and undone in you'r amp's pre-amp stage)

Of course, if you don't have a line out, you use what you got...

Last edited by Lawrie; 01/12/08 09:20 PM.

--=-- My credo: If it's worth doing, it's worth overdoing - just ask my missus, she'll tell ya laugh --=--
You're only paranoid if you're wrong!
M
Mac Offline
Veteran
Veteran
M
Headphone output can safely drive a line input.

Rule of thumb, if the impedence of the input is higher than the impedence of the output in audio work, it is not a problem. Ohm's law.

This is likely not a latency problem but a sync problem.