Index
Next Thread
Print Thread
Go To
Beginners Forum
R
OP Offline
R
Hi there, total noob here. I very recently posted concerning a problem I was having using style maker and building styles from scratch. If you know a lot about that and would like to help you can see that post here: http://www.pgmusic.com/forums/ubbthreads.php?ubb=showflat&Number=444100&#Post444100

Otherwise I just wanted to see if BIAB would make sense as a tool for some musical goals I'm trying to accomplish.

One thing I love is how you give BIAB a number of 1 measure phrases and then it sort of randomizes them. This is especially useful for percussion. I have some different drum machines, groove boxes, and an electronic drum kit. Would it be feasible to create or edit a style where I record a whole ton of phrases myself via midi from these different devices? Would it capture the sounds or just the midi information? Or is BIAB the wrong tool for this kind of job?

If it is possible for me to build a song this way, would it be easy to then experiment swapping out different midi instruments while the track is playing to find the sounds that I like the best?

Sorry if either of these questions are too basic, I have been reading the tutorials and watching videos, I'm trying to figure out if my goals are even possible before I spend all this time trying to figure it out.

Thanks!

Beginners Forum
C
Veteran
Veteran
C
You are essentially describing creating loops and samples with your question. Biab can do the things you are wanting to do but any DAW will do it faster, easier and better in most conceivable aspects than Biab. DAWs are designed to do that type task whereas Biab is not. Biab can use loops and samples, contains loops and samples and is a great place to construct your song. There is simply little reason to do so unless you wish to use additional features of Biab such as RealTracks, Supermidi, midi or RealDrums. Or, perhaps use Biab to scratch out ideas.